This award recognises an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the development of international rowing. Nominees are considered based on their contribution to the sport made through grass-roots development, involvement in the organisation of large rowing events and long-term service to rowing.

Rowing is not limited to the crews on the water, it takes an enormous amount of off-water support and there are many who have contributed long past they retired from competitive rowing. The Distinguished Services Award acknowledges individuals for their service to the sport in the broadest sense. It is about their lifelong effort to make rowing accessible to all and to shape the future of the sport.

The Award was first presented in 2002 and the list of winners is remarkable. It includes names synonymous with rowing such as Norway’s Thor Nilsen and Anita DeFrantz of the United States. Nilsen was recognised for his work in rowing development; DeFrantz for her leadership in rowing and beyond.

The call for public nominations will close on 30 September. An expert panel comprised of Denis Oswald, Mike Sweeney, Thor Nilsen and Ingrid Dieterle will recommend a winner to the FISA Executive Committee who will make the final decision.  The Award will be presented at the World Rowing Awards dinner in November.

Recent winners: 

Borge Kaas Andersen (DEN)
John Boultbee (AUS)
Reinhold Batschi (AUS/ROU)

For a full list of winners visit here. 

To nominate click here