Distinguished Service to International Rowing Award


The winner of the 2018 Distinguished Service to International Rowing Award was Borge Kaas Andersen from Denmark. He has been a FISA Executive Committee member, a long-time chair of the FISA Umpiring Commission and an honorary member of the FISA Council.


What is the Distinguished Service to International Rowing Award?

The Distinguished Service to International Rowing Award is annually awarded to someone who has had an outstanding contribution to develop international rowing in the current year and large events or at grass-roots level but has not previously won the award.


How do you make a nomination and who will judge the nominations?

The first stage is a public nomination, which you can enter your vote here, which will then be revised by the council whom will determine a short list of nominees, where thereafter the Executive Committee will make the final decision.


​Nominations are closed for the 2018 Awards.

When will the award be presented?

The award will be presented at the annual World Rowing Awards function.


Previous Winners

2017 John Boultbee AUS
2016 Reinhold Batschi AUS
2015 Klaus Filter GER
2014 Denis Oswald SUI
2013 Anita DeFrantz USA
2012 Di Ellis GBR
2011 Ricardo Ibarra ARG
2010 Hart Perry NZL
2009 Don Rowlands NZL
2008 Zhang Qing CHN
2007 Michel Doutre FRA 
2006 Penny Chuter GBR
2005 Werner Konrad GER
2004 Mike Sweeney GBR
2003 Thor Nilsen NOR
2002 Klaus Filter  GER