World Rowing Awards

What is the World Rowing Men’s Crew of the Year Award?

The World Rowing Men’s Crew of the Year Award is awarded annually to a male rower or a men’s crew for their outstanding rowing achievement. The winner(s) have to be a male rower or men’s crew that has won a World Champion title in the current year, or in an Olympic year been successful at the Olympic Games, but hasn’t won this award in previous years.

How do you make a nomination and who will judge the nominations?

The first stage is a public nomination, which will then be revised by the Athlete & Coach Awards Panel whom will determine a short list of nominees and recommend a winner, where thereafter the Executive Committee will make the final decision.

When will the award be presented?

The award will be presented at the annual World Rowing Awards function.

Previous Winners

2023: Oliver Zeidler – GER M1x
2022: Hugo Boucheron, Matthieu Androdias – FRA M2x
Fintan McCarthy, Paul O’Donovan – IRL LM2x
2020: There was no award in 2020
2019 : Martin and Valent Sinkovic – CRO M2-
2018 : Jashua Hicks, Spencer Turrin, Jack Hargreaves and Alexander Hill – AUS M4-
2017 : Johannes Weissenfeld, Felix Wimberger, Maximilian Planer, Torben Johannesen, Jakob Schneider, Malte Jakschik, Richard Schmidt, Hannes Ocik and Martin Sauer (coxswain) – GER M8+
2016 : Martin and Valent Sinkovic – CRO M2x
2015 :  Jeremie Azou and Stany Delayre – FRA LM2x
2014 : Hamish Bond and Eric Murray – NZL M2-
2013 : Hamish Bond and Eric Murray- NZL M2-
2012 : James Thompson, Matthew Brittain, John Smith and Sizwe Lawrence Ndlovu – RSA LM4-
2011 : Hamish Bond and Eric Murray – NZL M2-
2010 : Ondrej Synek – CZE M1x
2009 : Mahe Drysdale – NZL M1x
2008 : Olaf Tufte – NOR M1x
2007 : Drew Ginn and Duncan Free – AUS M2-
2006 : Konrad Wasielewski, Marek Kolbowicz, Michal Jelinski and Adam Korol – POL M4x
2005 : Luka Spik and Iztok Cop – SLO M2x
2004 : Matthew Pinsent, Ed Coode, James Cracknell and Steve Williams – GBR M4-
2003 : James Tomkins and Drew Ginn – AUS M2-
2002 : James Cracknell and Matthew Pinsent – GBR M2-