The regatta attracted over 5000 entries representing 52 countries and concluded on Sunday with 89 races in mixed gender crews.

The men’s single sculls had a staggering number of entries with masters D (50 years or over) and masters E (55 or over) each attracting 150 competitors and masters F (60 or over) and masters C (43 or over) 148 entries each. The women’s D and C double sculls saw 81 and 72 boats racing respectively. 

Two Club Trophies are awarded annually to the most successful club for men and women. This year, Ushakov Rowing from Moscow took the honours in the men’s trophy with 896 points, 444 points clear of second-placed Bedford Star from Great Britain. Cornelis Tromp from the Netherlands picked up the women’s trophy with 297 points.

[PHOTO src=”140191″ size=”mediumLandscape” align=”right”]


“We didn’t expect this, but we are very happy to achieve it,” said the Cornelis Tromp team captain on accepting the trophy at the end of racing on Saturday.

Competitors at the regatta ranged in age from 27 to 93 and competed in races grouped by those nearest in age. During the regatta, 80 competitors were awarded the ‘Octogenarian Medal’ which recognises rowers over the age of 80 who are still competing.

Masters rowers can start at age 27, but many of the coxswains were younger. Cameron Moffatt celebrated his 18th birthday with a win coxing the masters E eight from Reading Rowing Club, Great Britain, to victory.

[PHOTO src=”140308″ size=”mediumLandscape” align=”right”]


During the closing ceremony, Chairman of the Masters Rowing Commission, Ronald Chen, said, “The organising committee, volunteers, NTOs and TOs have all contributed towards the magnificence of this regatta. Just as we celebrate this regatta we, of course, look to the future and I call upon the masters rowers all over the world to join us next year in Linz-Ottensheim, Austria to celebrate the 47th World Rowing Masters Regatta.”

The 2020 World Rowing Masters Regatta will be held on the same venue that hosted the 2019 World Rowing Championships, Linz-Ottensheim, Austria, and will take place 2-6 September.

For results here.