World Rowing Coach of the Year

The winner of the 2019 World Rowing Coach of the Year Award was Gary Hay from New Zealand. He is the women’s head coach.


What is the World Rowing Coach of the Year Award?

The World Rowing Coach of the Year Award is annually awarded to a coach that has coached a World medalist crew in the current year and who demonstrates a unique feature, e.g.has overcome a significant obstacle to succeed.


How do you make a nomination and who will judge the nominations?

The first stage is a public nomination, which will then be revised by the Athlete & Coach Awards Panel whom will determine a short list of nominees and recommend a winner, where thereafter the Executive Committee will make the final decision.


When will the award be presented?

The award will be presented at the annual World Rowing Awards function.


Previous Winners

2019 Gary Hay NZL
2018 Dominic Casey IRL
2017 Alexis Besancon FRA
2016 Roger Barrow RSA
2015 Nikola Bralic CRO
2014 Bent Fransson DEN
2013 Johan Flodin NOR
2012 Dick Tonks NZL
2011 Gianni Postiglione GRE
2010 Dick Tonks NZL
2009 Tom Terhaar USA
2008 Aleksander Wojciechowski POL
2007 Paul Thompson GBR
2006 Gianni Postiglione GRE
2005 Richard Tonks NZL
2004 Mike Teti USA
2003 Giuseppe La Mura ITA
2002 Mike Spracklen CAN
2001 Jutta Lau GER
2000 Juergen Grobler GBR
1999 Al Morrow CAN
1998 Bent Jensen DEN