World Rowing Sustainability Award


The winner of the 2018 World Rowing Sustainability Award is 'Love Where you Row' by Alan Robinson, Schuylkill Navy, Head of the Schuylkill, United States. New for 2018, this award recognises projects that are helping to safeguard the environment.


What is the World Rowing Sustainability Award?

The World Rowing Sustainability Award is awarded annually to a national federation, club, event organising committee or other rowing organisation that has implemented an innovative project or initiative delivering a clear and positive sustainability impact, or that is demonstrating sound sustainability practices on an ongoing basis.  The project should have been implemented within the past 12 months and should have already demonstrated meaningful impact.


How do you make a nomination?

The organisation can be nominated by its own members or another individual or organisation. The nomination will be made through an online form on the World Rowing website and will include a description of the project and its outcomes, including supporting evidence of those outcomes.    


​Nominations are closed for the 2018 Awards.


Who will judge the nominations?

A panel made up of representatives of the IOC Sustainability Department, WWF International (FISA’s Environmental Partner), FISA President Jean-Christophe Rolland and Olympic champion and FISA Kafue River and Rowing Centre Ambassador, Kim Brennan.


When will the award be presented?

The award will be presented at the annual World Rowing Awards function.

Environmental sustainability in rowing includes social, cultural, economic and ecological responsibility, fulfilling present and future needs.