World Rowing Coach of the Year


The winner of the 2018 World Rowing Coach of the Year Award was Dominic Casey from Ireland. He has coached the Men’s pair, lightweight men’s and women’s double sculls and the lightweight men’s quadruple sculls.

What is the World Rowing Coach of the Year Award?

The World Rowing Coach of the Year Award is annually awarded to a coach that has had an outstanding achievement in the current year, where he/she coached a World Champion crew in the current year. Additionally, criteria include if the coach has coached several crews that have medalled at the World Rowing Championships but has not previously won the award.


How do you make a nomination and who will judge the nominations?

The first stage is a public nomination, which you can enter your vote here, which will then be revised by the council whom will determine a short list of nominees, where thereafter the Executive Committee will make the final decision.


​Nominations are closed for the 2018 Awards.

When will the award be presented?

The award will be presented at the annual World Rowing Awards function.


Previous Winners

2017 Alexis Besancon FRA
2016 Roger Barrow RSA
2015 Nikola Bralic CRO
2014 Bent Fransson DEN
2013 Johan Flodin NOR
2012 Dick Tonks NZL
2011 Gianni Postiglione GRE
2010 Dick Tonks NZL
2009 Tom Terhaar USA
2008 Aleksander Wojciechowski POL
2007 Paul Thompson GBR
2006 Gianni Postiglione GRE
2005 Richard Tonks NZL
2004 Mike Teti USA
2003 Giuseppe La Mura ITA
2002 Mike Spracklen CAN
2001 Jutta Lau GER
2000 Juergen Grobler GBR
1999 Al Morrow CAN
1998 Bent Jensen DEN