Tomkins,a three-time Olympic gold medallists and a six-time Olympian, has been successful in a range of boats including the men’s pair, four and eight. Tomkins retired after the 2008 Beijing Olympics where he competed in his nation’s eight.

Thomas Keller medal winner and three-time Olympic Champion James Tomkins has been elected to the International Olympic Committee, IOC Athletes’ Commission

Since then Tomkins has been a member of the Australian Olympic Committee ( AOC) as part of the Athletes’ Commission and an AOC Executive member. Tomkins is also a board member of the Australian Drug Foundation. In 2010 Tomkins was awarded the Thomas Keller Medal, the highest honour in rowing.

Tomkins is one of four new members to the IOC Athletes’ Commission and all four, including Danka Bartekova (Slovakia, shooting), Kirsty Coventry (Zimbabwe, aquatics) and Tony Estanguet (France, canoe-kayak), were elected by their peers during the London 2012 Olympic Games.

The four new members have already attended an IOC session where they saw Buenos Aires (ARG) being chosen as the host city for the 2018 Youth Olympic Games. Also at this session the six candidates contending to become the next IOC president gave presentations. FISA president, Denis Oswald is one of the candidates.

Tomkins will then attend the IOC session in Buenos Aires in September. At this session a new IOC president will be elected.