Marcel Hacker, who has represented Germany in the men’s single sculls internationally since 1999, and is the nine-time German champion in the single, finished second behind Stephan Krueger. Racing in sixth position for half the race, Hacker then moved gradually up the ranks and into second, ahead of 2012 Olympic Champions from the men's quadruple sculls, Philipp Wende and Lauritz Schoof.

Hacker took the defeat well stating that the pressure was now off of him, while Krueger admitted that he never thought he would make it to the top spot, but had always hoped.

Krueger is Germany's regular in the men's double sculls, holding this position since 2009, the year he became World Champion with Eric Knittel. In 2011 he took world silver, also in the double, with Hans Gruhne.

The women’s single sculls also posted an upset. The long-standing national champion Annekatrin Thiele finished fifth, with Carina Baer claiming the title instead. Baer and Thiele are regular members of Germany's flagship women's boat, the women's quadruple sculls. Their boat won the World Championships in both 2014 and 2013. At the London 2012 Olympic Games, they won Olympic silver, also in the quad.

The podium of the women's single sculls, Marie-Cathérine Arnold, Carina Baer, Lisa Schmidla at the 2015 German National Championships ©Deutscher Ruderverband e.V. © FISA


​The podium of the women's single sculls, Marie-Catherine Arnold, Carina Baer, Lisa Schmidla at the 2015 German National Championships ©Deutscher Ruderverband e.V.

Finishing second, third and fourth in the women’s single were Lisa Schmidla, also from last year’s World Champion quad, Marie-Cathérine Arnold and Mareike Adams, who both raced the quad to European Championship silver last year. In sixth was Julia Lier, also a member of the 2014 World Champion boat. These top scullers will now make up the women's quadruple sculls boat for the 2015 season.  

In the lightweight women’s single sculls, Marie-Louise Draeger took gold to record her eighth win at this championship. The 2010 World Champion in the lightweight single is also notably a two-time World Champion (2003, 2005) and a World Championship bronze medallist (2007) in in the lightweight double. Finishing second and third behind Draeger were Anja Noske and Leonie Pless respectively.

Racing in the lightweight men's single sculls saw line honours go to Konstantin Steinhuebel. Steinhuebel raced to silver in the lightweight men's quadruple sculls last year. Behind Steinhuebel was Moritz Moos who found that he could not hold Steinhuebel pace in the second 1000m. The lightweight men's pair went to Jonathan Koch and Lars Wichert who were part of the 2014 lightweight men's four for Germany.

The majority of athletes racing in the A-final of the men’s pair came from Germany’s men’s eight. Richard Schmidt and Felix Drahotta were the top combination. The women's pair went to Michaela Schmidt and Ronja Schuette who come out of their country's 2014 women's eight. From both the men's and women's pairs race, the top-ranking boats will go into the eight. 

The final rankings at the German Small Boat Championships influence the selection of the national team for the international season.

For a full list of results, click here.