Buryak's new time saw her break the eight-year-old record set by Sophie Balmary of France in 2006 over the 2000m distance.  And for Buryak a time more than three seconds faster than Balmary's record.

Buryak started off at a stroke rate of about 31 for the first 500m and remained in the low 30s for the majority of the race, before averaging 34 for the last 500m. This put the Ukrainian 17 seconds ahead of second-placed Anna Wierzbowska of Poland with Joanna Leszczynska (Poland) finishing third.

Buryak is part of Ukraine's national rowing team and rowed at the London 2012 Olympic Games in the women's double sculls. In 2014, she finished 10th in the double at the World Rowing Championships.

Lithuania's Rolandas Mascinskas was first in the open men's race finishing in a time of 5:44.9. Behind Mascinskas a very tight battle went on between Stanislau Shcharbachenia of Belarus and Bartosz Zablocki of Poland. Both finished in a time of 5:48.2.

Lithuania also had success in the lightweight women's race with 2013 World Champion from the women's double sculls, Donata Vistartaite, winning in a time of 7:02.2. Vistartaite usually races in the heavyweight boat classes but had to weigh in for this event at a maximum of 61.5kg.  Paula Wydrych and Joanna Dorociak, both from Poland finished in second and third respectively recording 7:07.6 and 7:08.5.

The lightweight men's race, for those with a maximum weight of 75kg, saw a tight finish between the top three with Poland's Artur Mikolajczewski in first with a time of 6:11.5, Lukasz Siemion (Poland) second in 6:12.4 and Portugal's Pedro Fraga in 6:13.6.

This is the first year that the European Rowing Indoor Championships has been held in this form with the venue and date for the 2016 event to be decided at the 2015 European Rowing Championships in May in Poznan, Poland.

Para-rowing results (1000m):

Women AS

1. Krisztina Lorincz HUN 05:23.7

Men AS
1. Dzmitry Ryshkevich BLR 04:08.8
2. Jerzy Kulik POL 04:3,5
3. Leszek Niewiarowski POL 04:44.7

1. Piotr Blzejczyk POL 03:17.7
2. Balazs Kiss HUN 03:18.7
3. Leopold Reimann GER 04:11.6

1. Robert Niesyczynski POL 03:09.1
2. Rafal Sitek POL 03:18.5

Women LTA-PD
1. Katarzyna Soczewka POL 04:10.8
2. Joanna Hantzschel POL 04:10.8

Men TA
1. Edwin Vermetten NED 03:37.8
2. Michal Gadowski POL 03:40.3
3. Marek Szczepanski POL 04:08.4

Women TA
1. Jolanta Pawlak POL 04:18.0

For full results:  www.ecrowing2015.pl