For immediate release
Lausanne, 8 November 2016

The finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Awards read like a who’s who in the sport of rowing. 

The high calibre list has been narrowed down following a public nomination process which closed on 9 October 2016. The public nominations then went to the World Rowing Federation, FISA Council who selected the finalists.

Finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Female Crew of the Year

  • Heather Stanning, Helen Glover, Great Britain, women’s pair
  • Emily Regan, Kerry Simmonds, Amanda Polk, Lauren Schmetterling, Tessa Gobbo, Meghan Musnicki, Eleanor Logan, Amanda Elmore, Katelin Snyder (coxswain), United States, women’s eight
  • Kimberley Brennan, Australia, women’s single sculls
  • Magdalena Fularczyk-Kozlowska, Natalia Madaj, Poland, women’s double sculls
  • Annekatrin Thiele, Carina Baer, Julia Lier, Lisa Schmidla, Germany, women's quadruple sculls 

 Finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Male Crew of the Year

  • Pierre Houin, Jeremie Azou, France, lightweight men’s double sculls
  • Eric Murray, Hamish Bond, New Zealand, men’s pair
  • Lucas Tramer, Simon Schuerch, Simon Niepmann, Mario Gyr, Switzerland, lightweight men’s four
  • Mahe Drysdale, New Zealand, men’s single sculls
  • Martin Sinkovic, Valent Sinkovic, Croatia, men’s double sculls

 Finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Para Crew of the Year

  • Birgit Skarstein, Norway, para women’s single sculls
  • Rachel Morris, Great Britain, para women’s single sculls
  • Grace Clough, Daniel Brown, Pamela Relph, James C. Fox, James Oliver (coxswain), Great Britain, para mixed coxed four
  • Roman Polianskyi, Ukraine, para men’s single sculls
  • Lauren Rowles, Laurence Whiteley, Great Britain, para mixed double sculls

 Finalists for the 2016 Coach of the Year

  • Alexis Besancon, France
  • Dominic Casey, Ireland
  • Noel Donaldson, New Zealand
  • Juergen Grobler, Great Britain
  • Roger Barrow, South Africa
  • Nikola Bralic, Croatia


Finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Distinguished Services to International Rowing

  • Ron Needs, Great Britain
  • Magdalena Sarbochova, Czech Republic
  • Mike Spracklen, Great Britain
  • John Boultbee, Australia
  • Reinhold Batschi, Australia
  • Annamarie Phelps, Great Britain


The award winners will be announced on 2 December 2016.  The winners will then be honoured on 28 January 2017 at a gala dinner during the 2016 World Rowing Coaches Conference in Vancouver, Canada.