The European Rowing Championships is open to the 44 European national rowing federations, including Israel. Of these nations, 34 have entered this year's regatta, representing a total of 543 athletes who will race in 17 boat classes (14 Olympic events plus three International events).

A direct link to the full entries and provisional timetable can be found on the homepage of
The level of competition is expected to be intense as an impressive line-up of Olympic medallists will race for the title of European Champion.

The lightweight men's double sculls has attracted the largest number of entries with 22 crews. Olympic finalists Stany Delayre and Jeremie Azou from France, one of the 2012 Samsung World Rowing Cup winning crews in thisevent, are considered to be the combination to beat.

The men's and women's single sculls will also see tight racing with a field of 19 and 16 boats respectively.  2012 Olympic Champion in the women's single sculls, Mirka Knapkova of the Czech Republic, and her counterpart in the men's single sculls, 2012 Olympic silver medallist Ondrej Synek, will be making their debut this season at this regatta.

This is the second World Rowing regatta to take place in 2013. The first stage of the 2013 Samsung World Rowing Cup series was held in Sydney, Australia late March. It took place at the Sydney International Regatta Centre, venue of the 2000 Olympic Rowing Regatta. As part of a strategic initiative to expand rowing's global calendar and to take advantage of Australia's pleasant early autumn temperatures, the World Rowing regatta season launched two months earlier in 2013 compared to previous years.

The European Rowing Championships are managed by the European Rowing Management Board consisting of seven members, four elected by the national federations and three appointed by the FISA Council. A General Assembly of the member national federations is held each year at the Championships to attribute future events and discuss the rules and regulations of the events.

In 2012 the European Rowing Championships were held in Varese, Italy where Italy finished as the overall best nation.

Race reports, live results and a photo gallery will be available on throughout the regatta.Please check the homepage for direct links.

The A-finals on Sunday 2 June will be video-streamed live. Please go to for details.