• History

    The Under 23 event has been in existence for nearly thirty years. Held for the first time in 1976 in Macon, France, under the title "Seniors Match" it eventually became the "Nations Cup" in 1992. FISA's 2005 Extraordinary Congress in Dubrovnik, Croatia, voted to upgrade the World Rowing Under 23 Regatta to World Rowing Championship status.

  • Competition Format

    Nations Cup

    The Nations Cup “Paolo d’Aloja” is awarded to the member federation obtaining the most points in all World Under 23 Rowing Championship events according to the following calculation:

    Placing Points
    1st 8 points
    2nd 6 points
    3rd 5 points
    4th 4 points
    5th 3 points
    6th 2 points
    7th 1 point


    Under 23 Boat Classes
    Under 23 Men (BM) 1x, 2x, 2-, 4x, 4-, 8+, 4+
    Under 23 Women (BW) 1x, 2x, 2-, 4x, 4-, 8+
    Under 23 Lightweight Men (BLM) 1x, 2x, 2-, 4x, 4-
    Under 23 Lightweight Women (BLW) 1x, 2x, 4x


Latest News

  • FISA Congress elects successor to President Denis Oswald


    FISA member federations elected Jean-Christophe Rolland of France as the future President of FISA on the first ballot at the 2013 Ordinary Congress in Chungju, Korea. Rolland received 117 of the 179 ballots cast. The required absolute majority was 90 votes. Candidates John Boultbee (AUS) and Tricia Smith (CAN) received 50 and 12 votes respectively.