• History

    In 1962, the first World Rowing Championships in rowing history for open category male rowers was organized, with the World Championships for women coming into existence twelve years later, in 1974. Lightweight events for men were added in 1974 and lightweight events for women in 1985. In 2002, adaptive rowing made its appearance on the international rowing scene.

  • Team Trophy

    The FISA Team Trophy is awarded to the member federation obtaining the most points in all senior World Championship events according to the following calculation:

    Placing Points
    1st 8 points
    2nd 6 points
    3rd 5 points

    4 points5

    5th 3 points
    6th 2 points
    7th 1 point
  • Boat Classes

    The World Rowing Championships are held in the following events:

    World Rowing Championships boat classes
    Men (M) 1x, 2x, 2-, 4x, 4-, 8+, 2+
    Women (W) 1x, 2x, 2-, 4x, 4-, 8+
    Lightweight Men (LM) 1x, 2x, 2-, 4x, 4-, 8+
    Lightweight Women (LW) 1x, 2x, 4x
    Adaptive (A) ASW1x, ASM1x, TAMix2x, LTAMix4+, LTAMix2x

Latest News

  • Finals time confirmed for 2014 World Rowing Championships


    The World Rowing Federation, FISA, has confirmed the timing of racing for the finals at the 2014 World Rowing Championships in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.