What is the Filippi Spirit Award?
Filippi has joined World Rowing in supporting all young rowing scholars around the world by becoming the title sponsor of the Filippi Spirit Award.

The Filippi Spirit Award will be presented to a university rower who has demonstrated the core values of rowing in his/her social, academic and sporting life, and, through these values, also enabled or inspired exceptional success in other people's lives - for example in education, business, sports or charity.

Eligibility Criteria 
The Filippi Spirit Award is open to current university students worldwide who study full time and row regularly for a university rowing club. The winner of the Award will be presented with a custom-made new Filippi racing eight boat for their rowing club. Filippi boats are made in Italy and used by medal-winning crews throughout the world. For rowers in some countries (such as the United States where NCAA regulations apply), the awards will be adjusted to conform with national eligibility regulations.

Each nomination must be made by two of the nominated rower's teammates, supported by the rowing club and endorsed by the university. Only one member may be nominated by each club.

The Prize Boat

The Prize Boat (a racing eight boat) is sponsored by one of the world's top rowing boat manufacturers - Filippi - and will be delivered to the club of the Filippi Spirit Award winner.


2015 WINNER - Kirsten Van Fossen

2015 Finalists

  • Lawrence Brittain (South Africa)
  • Tsz Wai Chan (Hong Kong)
  • Maciej Sciesiek (Poland)
  • Tijana Stefanovic (Serbia)
  • Kirsten Van Fossen (Great Britain/United States)
  • Tristan Wentworth (South Africa) 



For the full profile - click here.

2014 Finalists


2013 Winner - JAMES COOK (GBR)
For the full profile of James Cook, click here

An impressive twenty-five worthy nominations from 12 countries were received for the first Parmigiani Spirit Award for university rowers. Six nominations were shortlisted, find their profiles (in alphabetical order) here:

*Sarah Bishop(RSA)
*Sarah Bourke(AUS)
*James Cook(GBR)
*Athenkosi Hlenkani(RSA)
*Zhisong Hu(CHN)
*Andrew Smith(GBR)