What is the Filippi Spirit Award?

Filippi has joined World Rowing in supporting all young rowing scholars around the world by becoming the title sponsor of the Filippi Spirit Award.

The Filippi Spirit Award will be presented to a university rower who has demonstrated the core values of rowing in his/her social, academic and sporting life, and, through these values, also enabled or inspired exceptional success in other people's lives - for example in education, business, sports or charity.

Eligibility Criteria 
The Filippi Spirit Award is open to current university students worldwide who study full time and row regularly for a university rowing club. The winner of the Award will be presented with a custom-made new Filippi racing eight boat for their rowing club. Filippi boats are made in Italy and used by medal-winning crews throughout the world. For rowers in some countries (such as the United States where NCAA regulations apply), the awards will be adjusted to conform with national eligibility regulations.

Each nomination must be made by two of the nominated rower's teammates, supported by the rowing club and endorsed by the university. Only one member may be nominated by each club.

The Prize Boat

The Prize Boat (a racing eight boat) is sponsored by one of the world's top rowing boat manufacturers - Filippi - and will be delivered to the club of the Filippi Spirit Award winner.

2018 WINNER - Amidu Silva

2018 Finalists

  • James Francis (United States)
  • Wilson Mure,(Australia)
  • Nikola Potparevic (Serbia)
  • Amidu Silva (Sri Lanka)


‚Äč2017 WINNER - Micheen Thornycroft

2017 Finalists

  • Rain de Jager (South Africa)
  • Vladimir Gluhovic (Serbia)
  • Seun Olusanya (Great Britain)
  • Mzwandile Sotsaka (South Africa)
  • Micheen Tornycroft (Zimbabwe)


2016 WINNER - Nils Jakob Hoff 

2016 Finalists

  • Renaud Berger (FRA)
  • Iulia Bodnariuc (CAN)
  • Gordon Dodge (RSA)
  • Jose Gomez-Feria (ESP)
  • Nils Jakob Hoff  (NOR)
  • Robyn Horan (RSA)


2015 WINNER - Kirsten Van Fossen

2015 Finalists

  • Lawrence Brittain (South Africa)
  • Tsz Wai Chan (Hong Kong)
  • Maciej Sciesiek (Poland)
  • Tijana Stefanovic (Serbia)
  • Kirsten Van Fossen (Great Britain/United States)
  • Tristan Wentworth (South Africa) 


2014 WINNER - Franz Gravenhorst (GER)

2014 Finalists


2013 WINNER - James Cook (GBR) 

2013 Finalists

2017                     Rain de Jager (South Africa)
Vladimir Gluhovic (Serbia)
Seun Olusanya (Great Britain)
Mzwandile Sotsaka (South Africa)
Micheen Thornycroft (Zimbabwe)