Skip over navigation

Kendall BREWER

United States of America USA


  • Gender
  • Birthdate
    17 Aug 1995
  • Height
    185 cm
  • Weight
    70 kg
  • Place of residence
    Austin , United States
  • Hobbies
    Running, Hiking, Cooking, Baking
  • University attended (if)
    University of Michigan
  • Started Rowing in

Recent results

2017 World Rowing Under 23 Championships - Plovdiv, BUL

Class Race Final Time
BW2- USA FA Final 3 07:17.710
BW2- USA H1 Heat 1 07:26.750

2016 World Rowing Under 23 Championships - Rotterdam, NED

Class Race Final Time
BW8+ USA FA Final 1 06:36.900
BW4- USA FA Final 1 06:27.280
BW8+ USA H1 Heat 1 06:20.860
BW4- USA H1 Heat 1 06:39.240

Kendall Brewer (USA)

Rising Star – January 2018

At age 22, Kendall Brewer from the United States has already gathered a nice collection of international medals, in addition to her nationally-won medals.

In 2013, at her first World Rowing Championships, she won silver in the junior women’s quadruple sculls. In 2016, she became a double under-23 World Champion when she competed in the women’s four and in the women’s eight, crossing the line with gold in both events. This past year, she won bronze at the World Rowing Under 23 Championships.

Not just a rower, Brewer is also a university student and is taking flying lessons. Read on to learn more about another rising star in international rowing.

I discovered rowing...after I stopped playing basketball in 8th grade. I needed Physical Education credit for my school and I was choosing between rowing and tennis. I decided to join the recreational program at Texas Rowing Center.

What I like about rowing is… the incredible athletes and friends that I get to meet, train, and race with. 

My goal in rowing is… to help my country win as many gold medals as possible in any way I can.

My favourite training session is… race pieces or practice starts on the water in race lineups. I also love this workout we do at Michigan called wires to peninsula, which is basically 2 by 6k (on the water) and it’s a lot of fun with the whole team. I also love a good gunnel pause drill.

My least favourite training session is… when there are a lot of power boats out on the lake and it’s extremely windy.  

The result I am most proud of so far is… finishing 3rd overall with Michigan at NCAA’s last year.

My most difficult race so far was… the past two years at the Big 10 Championships. In 2016 my boat lost to Ohio State by .07 seconds and then in 2017 we lost the team title by one point.  While these losses have been difficult, I feel very grateful to have had the opportunity to race in such a competitive conference with impressive programs. Most of all, to share some very meaningful moments with people I love.

What I learned most from competing at junior and under23 level is… Racing at Juniors showed me a new and exciting level of competition to strive for. Under23’s taught me about adaptability. It’s a lot of fun to work together with athletes from different programs over the summer and learn from each other to make boats go fast. For example, this past summer I got to train and race in a pair with Brooke Pierson from the University of Washington. We worked really well together by learning from each other and had a lot of fun doing so.

My sporting hero is… Felice Mueller because she’s awesome. She sets a high bar for what it means to be a great athlete, teammate, and person.

My non-rowing friends think ... Haha, those are hard to come by. I guess they think that it’s impressive when I finish their meals for them.

I study…  Sociology with a focus in health and medicine at the University of Michigan.

I balance university with training by... using what rowing teaches me about myself and my motivations and transferring those things to my work in the classroom.

My favourite hobby outside of rowing is…. Well recently I’ve taken up flying lessons, which is a lot of fun. I have quite a bit to learn. I’m currently having some trouble getting lessons in because there are a lot of weather restrictions especially at this time of year in Michigan.

In my fridge, you will always find… tortillas, eggs, avocados if they are getting too ripe, maybe some Cabot cheese. Only the essentials really. Probably some chocolate too. Blueberries if they are in season so I guess that’s not always, but I do love some good blubes.

If I could have dinner with any three people in the world… My roommates Flick, Kal and Rae because I love them and we always have a good time and I’m going to miss them when I leave school.

If I was an animal, I would be… a dog because they eat, sleep, and play. All day every day. 

In 10 years’ time… I hope I’m doing something I love whether that’s rowing (hopefully) or flying planes or going back to school to do some more learning. Or something else, who knows…