Skip over navigation

Panagiotis MAGDANIS

Greece GRE

Athlete

  • Gender
    M
  • Birthdate
    29 Nov 1990
  • Height
    174 cm
  • Weight
    64 kg
  • Place of residence
    Mirina Limnoy , Greece
  • Started Rowing in
    2003
  • Hobbies
    fishing

Recent results

2017 European Rowing Championships - Racice, CZE

Class Race Final Time
LM2x GRE FB Final 2 06:24.990
LM2x GRE SA/B 1 Semifinal 5 06:49.590
LM2x GRE R2 Repechage 2 06:32.850
LM2x GRE H4 Heat 4 06:46.820

2016 World Rowing Championships - Rotterdam, NED

Class Race Final Time
LM4x GRE FA Final 3 06:26.580
LM4x GRE H1 Heat 1 05:57.460

Quotes from Athletes

21 May 2014 Panagiotis Magdanis
It was difficult because of the head wind. But it was very, very good for us in the last minutes.
21 May 2014 Panagiotis Magdanis
„The race was good and we are happy about the medal.
21 May 2014 Panagiotis Magdanis
We are definitely stronger and getting closer to the others. Next we start training for the next championships and we will worry about Rio (2016) afterwards. It is still a few years until then.

Panagiotis MAGDANIS Interview

Rising Star - August 2013

Panagiotis Magdanis began competing internationally at the 2008 Junior World Championships in the junior men’s single sculls. Joining forces with Eleftherios Konsolas, he went on to win a gold medal in the lightweight men’s double sculls at the 2010 World Rowing Under 23 Championships in Brest, Belarus. Since then he has shown versatility, rowing the single, double and quadruple sculls and earning two European Championship medals, a World Cup silver and a silver at the 2012 World Championships. At just 22, Magdanis is a lightweight talent to watch and so he has been named World Rowing’s Rising Star for August.

I row because… rowing has given me some very beautiful moments that I would have never experienced if I didn’t row.

My least favourite training session… is weightlifting.

My favourite training session… is running.

My toughest race was… the B-final at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

I am motivated by… the desire to make my dreams come true.

My favourite boat to row in is… a quadruple scull.

In 10 years’ time… I hope I am going to have a medal from the Olympic Games and have a family.

On the erg, I listen to… my coach.

My favourite food is… any homemade food.

A typical day… starts with training after breakfast, then I have lunch and some rest before training some more. Afterwards I relax with friends.